Tuition fees

Main content

The following tuition and semester fees are charged, in accordance with the Fee Ordinance of the ETH Domain (Swiss and non-Swiss students alike):

Tuition fee: CHF 580 per semester

The tuition fee covers the enrolment in all courses. It is payable for each regular semester and for the semester in which the Master’s thesis is written.

Students who are enrolled both in a Bachelor's and a directly following Master's programme are charged with only one tuition fee. Students who are enrolled in more than one study programme (additional enrolment in a different programme) have to pay the tuition fees for each enrolment.

Compulsory fees

Type of fee Amount
Total compulsory semester fee CHF 69.00
  • Academic Sports Association Zurich (ASVZ)
CHF 30.00
  • Scholarship fund
CHF   7.00
  • ETH Zurich Student Union (VSETH) fee for general services
CHF 32.00

Voluntary contributions

The voluntary contributions may be selected individually in each semester in myStudies.

Type of contribution
Solidarity Fund for Foreign Students
This foundation can grant scholarships to foreign students who are studying for their first degree. More detailed information is available from the Scholarship Office.
CHF 5.00
SOSeth membership (in German)
SOSeth provides its members with a range of services (e.g. cinema, digital arena, photo laboratory, etc.) at reduced prices.
CHF 5.00
Student Union VSETH membership (in German)
This fee goes to support the appropriate subject-specific student association as well as the umbrella organisation VSETH, the ETH Zurich Student Union.
CHF 10.00

The tuition fee does not apply for students taking leave of absence for a semester. If you enrol for individual courses during the leave of absence, CHF 50 is charged for each semester hour you are taking, up to a maximum of the tuition fee for a full semester (CHF 580). However, the compulsory semester fees must be paid.


Page URL:
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich