Academic Calendar

Semester dates / Lectures

Autumn Semester 2015 Monday, 14.09.2015 - Friday, 18.12.2015
Spring Semester 2016 Monday, 22.02.2016 - Friday, 03.06.2016
Autumn Semester 2016 Monday, 19.09.2016 - Friday, 23.12.2016
Spring Semester 2017 Monday, 20.02.2017 - Friday, 02.06.2017
Autumn Semester 2017 Monday, 18.09.2017 - Friday, 22.12.2017

Overview semester dates

2015

Whitsuntide Saturday, 23.05.2015 - Monday, 25.05.2015 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
End of Spring Semester 2015 Friday, 29.05.2015
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 05.06.2015
Doctorate awards ceremony Friday, 10.07.2015
Swiss National Day Saturday, 01.08.2015 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
Examination session Monday, 03.08.2015 - Friday, 28.08.2015
Entrance examinations Monday, 17.08.2015 - Thursday, 27.08.2015
Information days for final-year secondary school students Wednesday, 02.09.2015 - Thursday, 03.09.2015
"Knabenschiessen" (local Zurich festival) Monday, 14.09.2015 Show 
 
Buildings open all day!
 
Start of Autumn Semester 2015 Monday, 14.09.2015 Show 
Erstsemestrigentag
 
Classes begin Tuesday, 15.09.2015
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 09.10.2015
Doctorate awards ceremony Friday, 09.10.2015
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 11.10.2015
Dies Academicus (“ETH Day”) Saturday, 21.11.2015 Show 
 
Main building HG closed, Sport Center Polyterrasse MM open
 
 
Polyball (annual student ball) Saturday, 28.11.2015 Show 
 
Buildings HG and MM closed starting Saturday, 17:00 h and Sunday
 
 
 
End of Autumn Semester 2015 Friday, 18.12.2015
Christmas break Thursday, 24.12.2015 - Sunday, 03.01.2016 Show 
 
Christmas break starting at noon, buildings closed from 13:00 h!
 
 
     

2016

Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 08.01.2016
Doctorate awards ceremony Friday, 15.01.2016
Examination session Monday, 25.01.2016 - Friday, 19.02.2016
Start of Spring Semester 2016 Monday, 22.02.2016
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 11.03.2016
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 20.03.2016
Week after Easter: no classes Friday, 25.03.2016 - Sunday, 03.04.2016 Show 
 
End of classes on Thursday, March 24, 2016, at 17:00 h, no classes up to and including Sunday, April 3, 2016
Buildings closed over Easter from Good Friday until Easter Monday!
 
 
 
Doctorate awards ceremony Friday, 15.04.2016
"Sechseläuten" (Zurich spring festival) Monday, 18.04.2016 Show 
 
No classes in the afternoon, buildings closed from 13:00 h!
 
Labour Day Sunday, 01.05.2016 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed
 
 
Ascension Day Thursday, 05.05.2016 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed, end of classes on Wednesday, Mai 4, at 17:00 h
 
 
Friday after Ascension Day: classes Friday, 06.05.2016
Whitsuntide Saturday, 14.05.2016 - Monday, 16.05.2016 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 27.05.2016
End of Spring Semester 2016 Friday, 03.06.2016
Doctorate awards ceremony Friday, 15.07.2016
Schweizer Nationalfeiertag / Swiss National Day Monday, 01.08.2016 Show 
 
Buildings closed
 
 
Examination session Monday, 08.08.2016 - Friday, 02.09.2016
Entrance examinations Monday, 22.08.2016 - Thursday, 01.09.2016
Information days for final-year secondary school students Wednesday, 07.09.2016 - Thursday, 08.09.2016
"Knabenschiessen" (local Zurich festival) Monday, 12.09.2016 Show 
 
Buildings open all day!
 
Start of Autumn Semester 2016 Monday, 19.09.2016 Show 
 
First semester day
 
Classes begin Tuesday, 20.09.2016
Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 14.10.2016
Doctorate awards ceremony Friday, 14.10.2016
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 16.10.2016
Dies Academicus (“ETH Day”) Saturday, 19.11.2016 Show 
 
Main building HG closed, Sport Center Polyterrasse MM open
 
 
Polyball (annual student ball) Saturday, 26.11.2016 Show 
 
Buildings HG and MM closed starting Saturday, 17:00 h and Sunday
 
 
 
End of Autumn Semester 2016 Friday, 23.12.2016
Christmas break Saturday, 24.12.2016 - Monday, 02.01.2017 Show 
 
Christmas break, buildings closed!
 
 
     

2017

Doctoral Graduation date Friday, 06.01.2017
Examination session Monday, 23.01.2017 - Friday, 17.02.2017
Start of Spring Semester 2017 Monday, 20.02.2017
application deadline session examinations and end of semester examinations Sunday, 19.03.2017
Week after Easter: no classes Friday, 14.04.2017 - Sunday, 23.04.2017 Show 
 
End of classes on Thursday, April 13, 2017, at 17:00 h, no classes up to and including Sunday, April 23, 2017
Buildings closed over Easter from Good Friday until Easter Monday!
 
 
 
"Sechseläuten" (Zurich spring festival) Monday, 24.04.2017 Show 
 
No classes in the afternoon, buildings closed from 13:00 h!
 
Labour Day Monday, 01.05.2017 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed
 
 
Ascension Day Thursday, 25.05.2017 Show 
 
no classes, buildings closed, end of classes on Wednesday, Mai 24, at 17:00 h
 
 
Friday after Ascension Day: classes Friday, 26.05.2017
     
 
 
Page URL: https://www.ethz.ch/en/news-and-events/academic-calendar.html
29.05.2015
© 2015 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich