Rössler Prize

Main content

Each year, the Rössler Prize is awarded to a young professor from ETH Zurich. The prize is a mark of honor for our most promising young scientists and should be a stimulus for the further development of their careers. Dr. Max Rössler made a generous donation to the ETH Zurich Foundation for this prize. Laureates receive CHF 200,000 to spend on scientific research.

Outstanding talents, which are characterized by scientific excellence and distinguished achievements in research and teaching, are identified in collaboration with various offices and bodies of ETH Zurich and suggested to the Executive Board. The Board acts as the jury and notifies Dr. Rössler prior to the election.

The prize is awarded as part of the "Thanks Giving"-event of the ETH Zurich Foundation.

Olga Sorkine

We congratulate Prof. Dr. Olga Sorkine-Hornung (Informatics) for winning the 2017 Rössler Prize!

For more information see

So far, the following individuals have been awarded the Rössler Prize:

  • 2016: Prof. Dr. Christophe Copéret (Inorganic Chemistry)
  • 2015: Prof. Dr. David Norris (Materials Engineering)
  • 2014: Prof. Dr. Christian Wolfrum (Obesity Research)
  • 2013: Prof. Dr. Olivier Voinnet (RNA-Biology)
  • 2012: Prof. Dr. Nicola Spaldin (Materials Theory)
  • 2011: Prof. Dr. Andreas Wallraff (Solid State Physics)
  • 2010: Prof. Dr. Gerald Haug (Climate Geology)
  • 2009: Prof. Dr. Nenad Ban (Microbiology)
Page URL: https://www.ethz.ch/en/research/science-awards-and-events/roessler-prize.html
Sat Jun 24 11:26:44 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich