ETH Day 2016

Main content

ETH Zurich celebrates its 161st year at this year’s ETH Day (its academic holiday) on 19 November 2016, together with guests from research, politics, and industry.

At ETH Day, Rector Sarah Springman explained how it is more important than ever for the university’s educational goals to draw on the ideals of the Enlightenment, and laid out the new teaching concepts that she intends to use to achieve this. In his own address, Roche CEO Severin Schwan emphasised the significance of researchers’ autonomy in a country’s capacity to innovate.

Academic Ceremony

The Academic Orchestra, led by Martin Lukas Meister, playing at ETH Day
The Academic Orchestra, led by Martin Lukas Meister, playing at ETH Day 2016
Accordion. Press Tab to navigate to entries, then Enter to open or collapse content.


Programme of the academic ceremony


* * * 
Professor Sarah M. Springman, Rector of ETH Zurich
Opening remarks

* * *

Musical interlude
Professor Lino Guzzella, President of ETH Zurich
Welcome address

* * *

Dr Severin Schwan, CEO Roche
Ceremonial speech

* * *

Presentation by junior researchers from the Department of Earth Sciences

* * *

Musical interlude

* * *

Honours and prizes

  • Remembering those we have lost
  • Awarding of scientific and foundation prizes
  • Awarding of the Golden Owl and the Credit Suisse Award for Best Teaching by the ETH Zurich Association of Students (VSETH), with a speech by the VSETH President
  • Awarding of honorary doctorates and appointing of honorary councillors

* * *

Professor Lino Guzzella, President of ETH Zurich
Closing remarks

* * *

Musical conclusion
The ceremony will be accompanied by the Zurich Academic Orchestra.

Presentation of honorary doctorates, honorary councils

Presentation of honorary doctors and councils at ETH Day 2016
At ETH Day 2016, ETH Zurich named two honorary doctors and one honorary council. Picture (from left): ETH President Lino Guzzella, Dr. Thomas Knecht (honorary council of ETH Zurich), Prof. Dr. Thomas F. Stocker (honorary doctor of ETH Zurich), Max Ernst Meyer (honorary doctor of ETH Zurich), ETH Rector Prof. Dr. Sarah M. Springman.
Accordion. Press Tab to navigate to entries, then Enter to open or collapse content.


Awards and prizes at ETH Day 2016

Honorary doctors of ETH Zurich

  • Max Ernst Meyer
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas F. Stocker

Honorary councils of ETH Zurich

  • Dr. Thomas Knecht

Industry and foundation awards


Industry/foundation Prize winners
ABB-Forschungspreis Dr. Theodor Sebastian Borsche
Heinrich Hatt-Bucher-Preise

1st prize:  Minu Lee

2nd prize: Matteo Berchier

3rd prize:  Benedikt M. Grauvogl

Hilti-Preis für Innovative Forschung Dr. Umang Jivanlal Maradia
Otto Jaag-Gewässerschutz-Preis Dr. Hanspeter Zöllig
Zurich Dissertation Prize Dr. Yavor Kamer
Dr. Julian Kölbel
Latsis-Preis Prof. Dr. Jonathan Paul Home

"Goldene Eule" of VSETH

Website: "Die Goldene Eule"

Department Preisträger/-innen
Architecture Prof. Christophe Girot
Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering Prof. Dr. Roman Stocker
Biology Dr. Emma Marie Caroline Wetter
Biosystems Science and Engineering Prof. Dr. Tanja Stadler
Chemistry and Applied Biosciences Prof. Dr. Cornelia Halin Winter
Earth Sciences Dr. Eric Reusser
Humanities, Social and Political Sciences Prof. Dr. Tobias Schmidt
Health Sciences and Technology Dr. Roland Müller
Computer Science Prof. Dr. Thomas Gross
Information Technology and Electrical Engineering Prof. Dr. Laurent Vanbever
Management, Technology and Economics Prof. Dr. Michael Ambühl
Mechanical and Process Engineering Dr. Gregor Ochsner
Materials Science Prof. Dr. Walter Remo Caseri
Mathematics Dr. Ana Cannas da Silva
Physics Prof. Dr. Manfred Sigrist
Environmental Systems Science Prof. Dr. Heini Wernli

Credit Suisse Award for Best Teaching 2016

Prof. Dr. John Lygeros

More information about all awards and prizes of the ETH Day 2016 can be found in the programme:

Programme ETH Day 2016 (in German only) (PDF, 1.2 MB)

Page URL:
Wed Aug 16 17:17:40 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich